New Discoveries: January – August 2012

Hey everyone, here’s a collection of songs that I’ve heard that have really caught my ear this year so far. I find that very often it’s difficult for me to keep up with & remember ALL of the new music I find out about & enjoy – from Shazam to recommendations to live shows, etc, so this is my attempt to document & save everything that I really enjoy – so that I’m always able to go back and listen later. Be forewarned that this is quite a long, VERY random list (genres across the board – it also includes some of my favorites from popular new(-ish) albums that have been in my rotation a lot this year), but I hope to continue to do this monthly going forward so that each list will be a little more manageable. I also recognize that I’m probably very late to the game for a lot of these songs. But for now, here’s what I’ve got for this year so far…and you may see extended features on some of these artists in the future!  Check back at the end of next month & hopefully you’ll find a new list from September!

Some highlights / favorites along with the playlist below –

Chillin in the Lounge (or at Home) Music:

Dance!

  • Two Up” – Diggy
  • No Sugar” – Joey Negro, Gramophonedzie, Shea Soul (I love this video…the dancing is so cute!)
  • Clocks” – Rhythms Del Mundo & Coldplay (THIS IS AN AMAZING MIX!!)
  • Warrior” – Kimbra
  • She’s Bad” – Bad Rabbits

Lovey-Dovey AND/OR Emo:

Simply Smooth 🙂 (R&B / Jazz)

  • Selfish Love” – Bertell
  • Daydreaming” – David Sanborn
  • Believe In Us” – Mint Condition
  • Sweet Life” – Frank Ocean (ARGUABLY MY FAVORITE SONG ON THIS WHOLE LIST!!…The version in this video is a liiitle high-pitched but still sounds great IMO…)
  • Let Me In” – Anthony David
  • I Don’t Care” – Elle Varner
  • Leaf” – Elle Varner
  • Lately” – Anita Baker (I still like Tyrese’s version better but I LOVE how Anita was able to make this her own! It sounds so smooth & jazzy, if you didn’t know better you’d think it was an old school song that Tyrese did a cover of!)
  • Feel The Same” – Reggie Watts
Leave a Reply

