Ed Sheeran…A Little Acoustic Folk for Ya

Ok, so I’ve been meaning to write about this guy for months so I know again I’m SUPER late but I just need him to be on my record as well.

To make a long story short, I think his music is BEAUTIFUL. Perfectly quiet, introspective & chill, but brace your heartstrings because this is gonna get pretty emo! Lol but anyway, I am so happy this guy exists to make music for people like me to LOVE & enjoy. I love how you can hear his accent peek through a little bit when he sings :)…This is perfect material to use on one of those teen / young adult drama shows, it would fit in perfectly & I think would make a killing!

Take a listen to his album, +, below if you have Spotify & check out my personal favorites (although I really think the album as a whole is awesome) right beforehand. Hope you enjoy!

Favorites

  • The A Team” – Deep, deep, deep dark lyrics that kind of catch you by surprise against the song’s melody. And I love how passionate his voice gets when he sings, “She don’t wanna go outside tonight…” Please actually check out the video if you get a chance, I think it’s a really awesome way of addressing such a real & disturbing issue.
  • Drunk” – Going pretty far to the emo side now lol, but I really just like the intro instrumentals for this one (& think the video is kinda hilarious in a pretty sad way…haha)
  • Grade 8” – Nice little upbeat contrast to the rest of the album
  • Small Bump” – Disclaimer: Another really emo one! Haha…but again, talking about some deep / real stuff.
  • Lego House” – This guy has such an interesting & hilarious sense of humor to me…do you recognize the star of the video? LOL
  • You Need Me, I Don’t Need You” – Listen to that beatboxing! Very reminiscent of Jason Mraz to me…
  • Give Me Love” – My absolute, #1 favorite on the entire album, from those beautiful calm strings at the beginning to the passion you can clearly hear gradually building in his voice again. You’ll get a nice hidden track thrown in there too.

Annd…just because I love this song so much…here’s another live version…I love how he starts live looping around 4:05 🙂

One response to “Ed Sheeran…A Little Acoustic Folk for Ya

  1. Pingback: John Macpherson | accompanykike

Leave a Reply

